Half-Full English Breakfast Oatmeal -or- What I Created This Morning

Pan-grilled in bacon grease: one huge mushroom, sliced, and one small tomato, halved. Meanwhile, cooked a serving of oatmeal. Stirred a bit of chopped onion into the oats. Set aside the mushroom and tomato, and cooked an egg, over easy.

Oats went into large, flattish bowl (pasta bowls by Correlle, how do I love thee?) Sprinkle with a small amount of shredded cheddar. Top with the mushroom, tomato and egg. Salt & pepper.

Forget to take a picture.
Eat.
Decide I have to write about it anyway. So, here goes:

A while back, I’d heard of savory oatmeal, but I’ve always been hesitant to have my oatmeal in a not-sweetened-with-something-brown manner. The something brown being brown sugar or (real) maple syrup. Also: butter. (Not. Margarine.)(Also also: Yellow butter. Not brown.)

Today wanted to be an oatmeal day. (What? Don’t tell me your days don’t have food preferences.) And it also wanted to be a Full English Breakfast day. But my days know: I never truly make one of those anyway. Too much work. Fried eggs, grilled mushrooms and tomatoes, bacon, some kind of sausage, some kind of fried potatoes, baked beans and fried bread. Seriously, they FRY the BREAD. There are a lot of variations on that basic theme, but you get the idea: it’s a whopping great lot of food. And work. And frying.

So, I like the idea of the Full English, but not the actuality of it. And, therefore, I’ll occasionally do us a brunch of eggs, bacon, toast and pan-grilled mushrooms. Sometimes, tomatoes, if I happen to have any because they’re in season and not those awful pink plastic hothouse ones you get in winter.

Anyway. I decided to do a fusion of the not-quite-full-English and not-sweet-oatmeal, and came up with the above-described breakfast.

And it was good.

 

About Bobbie Laughman

May vanish if startled. Professional Advice Dispenser. Amateur Human Being. Scam Detector. Christian. Grandma. Writer-ish. Artistic leanings. Anti-social. Old School Trekkie. Contains Nuts.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Half-Full English Breakfast Oatmeal -or- What I Created This Morning

Got something to say?

