A new leaf

Seriously? Four months? I knew it had been a while since I’d written…well, pretty much anything other than facebook statuses (statusi? statusies?) and an occasional tweet. What happened?

I’ve really just let the writing slide, because I failed to make it a priority and to make time for it. A bit not good. My husband has even wondered why, since he’d voiced his support for me to continue writing after I moved back in. I don’t really have an excuse, and I’m not going to make one up.

So, tomorrow is the start of a bright, shiny new year, and people tend to do that resolution thingy which I have always resolutely resolved to ignore, so I’m declaring today (or rather, tonight) to be New Leaf Day here on Gruntled. Sheveled. Whelmed.

New Leaf, as in Turning Over A.

Think of it as a resolution for those who oppose doing things that everyone else does. Because if you know me, you already know I’m kinda like that. Even if it ends up being pretty much the same thing, at least I can pretend it’s Different.

Anyway, my New Leaf is this: Write. Every day.

Whether it’s a post for Gruntled, or for Home Ec 101 (a wonderful, helpful site for which I used to write frequently, but I’ve let that slide even longer than this one), working a bit on that book I want to eventually write, or writing something useful for our business. Anything, but it must be actual writing. Texting, emailing, tweeting and status-ing do not count. Also, I will completely finish and post something on this blog at least once a week.

My dear sister was nagging encouraging me, during my recent visit to Ohio, to get back into the habit of writing. Apparently, she has nothing to read if I don’t blog. So, Debbie, this one’s for you.

And to everyone else — feel free to nag me if I don’t post weekly. Yes, I mean you.

About Bobbie Laughman

May vanish if startled. Professional Advice Dispenser. Amateur Human Being. Scam Detector. Christian. Grandma. Writer-ish. Artistic leanings. Anti-social. Old School Trekkie. Contains Nuts.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new leaf

  1. yur bruther says:

    Is this a “pre-Epiphany” epiphany?

  2. Alesha says:

    Welcome back!

  3. Yeah, I think when we think we are so different from others, it turns out not to be so. It’s just we know our inner workings and thoughts and not theirs, don’t you think? Anyway, VERY glad to see you writing.

  4. debbieweber says:

    Very happy to hear that you’ll be writing more! Great non-resolution!

Got something to say?

