Grocery Cart Poetry: An Ode to Bacon

This is my favorite of the two pork-related poems I have crafted, and I daresay it is likely the only ode ever to use the word “scarf” as a verb. Since my husband is such an avid fan of bacon, how could I not write this?

An Ode to Bacon

While under quilt I did repose,
sleep fighting ‘gainst the light,
a perfect odor met my nose.
Waked at once, feet took flight,
sure and swift-footed, ’til I spied
a dark, smoked confection.
Sweet, to crackling crispness fried.
Bacon! food perfection!

A charger piled with bacon, I
did scarf, then looked for more.
The cook gave me the evil eye,
booted me out the door.
So, now, a guest I’ll be no more
in homes where bacon’s served.
My reputation goes before
and, it is well deserved.

About Bobbie Laughman

May vanish if startled. Professional Advice Dispenser. Amateur Human Being. Scam Detector. Christian. Grandma. Writer-ish. Artistic leanings. Anti-social. Old School Trekkie. Contains Nuts.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say?

