Grocery Cart Poetry: Sour Cream

Sour cream covers a multitude of kitchen sins, but it is something of a temptation in and of itself. Or am I the only one who can’t resist a taste or two of the good stuff? And of course, by “good stuff” I mean the brands of sour cream with an ingredients list that says “Cultured cream” and ends there. When it comes to ingredient labels, less is more. The less funky stuff in it, the more likely I’ll buy it.

Here is an ode-that’s-not-technically-an-ode to one of my favorite ingredients.

(Subscribers who know me personally may find this poem slightly familiar. It has been changed a bit from my original version.)

The Cream Has Soured

Don’t open that refrigerator door,
Can’t bear to hear the screams
A demon voice inside my head?
Yes…it’s the sour cream.

“You know you want me”, it will try,
“One spoonful! It won’t hurt!”
And I may listen. Might give in.
More bulges in my shirt?

Oh, chocolate does not tempt me,
Nor do cookies, cake, or pie.
But, the sour cream is evil, sir
It’s guilty, sir, not I.

About Bobbie Laughman

May vanish if startled. Professional Advice Dispenser. Amateur Human Being. Scam Detector. Christian. Grandma. Writer-ish. Artistic leanings. Anti-social. Old School Trekkie. Contains Nuts.
This entry was posted in Food, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grocery Cart Poetry: Sour Cream

  1. obimomjacoby says:

    A childhood memory is sour cream on bread with brown sugar sprinkled on it…..

Got something to say?

