In which I say hello to the internet

Hello Internet!

My name is Bobbie Laughman, and I’ve been online since before ever hearing the word “internet” – although I really didn’t know what I was doing back in the days of electronic bulletin boards. At that time I only logged in to play a game my husband was participating in, at his specific direction. That was the late 80s and it was an exciting time. Until we got that phone bill and realized the bulletin board we’d dialed into twice a day for nearly a month fell into the category of “local long distance” which was Rather Expensive At The Time. Ooops.

So, what should you expect from Gruntled.Sheveled.Whelmed

Variety. And words. Lots of words. Brevity is the soul of wit, but pleonasm is the soul of Bobbie Laughman. I shall attempt to reign in this tendency and keep things moving along.

What will you NOT find here?

Lots of really short posts. Sometimes, sure, but mostly words and more words. “To make a long story short” is a phrase I use only with my tongue planted firmly in my cheek. So, if you’re the Too Long/Didn’t Read type, there won’t be much here for you. Seriously. But, it was nice of you to stop by. Please tell your friends with longer attention spans that this is the place for them.

You also won’t find lots and lots of stunning photography. I take pictures when I’m doing something that I intend to write about, and once in a while I get what I think is a really nice picture, but I am not a photographer. My son’s girlfriend most definitely is, however. Go see her art photos.

I used to have several blogs – a cooking blog, a photo/humor blog, a look-at-the-evil-in-the-world blog, and another one where I wrote mostly about family, but also things that just interested me. I was trying to find that niche that everyone in marketing says you need to have.

It didn’t work for me – I don’t fit into a niche. Nobody puts Bobbie in the corner.

Gruntled.Sheveled.Whelmed.  is going to be full of things that make me want to write. That’s pretty much the base qualifier, and my hope is that I do it in an interesting enough way that others want to read what I have to say about these things.

Since I self-identify as a writer, I’ve realized that what I need to do is….write. More than I do, which is semi-regularly at best, and not nearly as much as I used to. Facebook, Twitter and tumblr have each been allowed to devour entirely too many of my brain cells, leaving my ability to form coherent thoughts into logical paragraph form somewhat diminished. Let’s see if I can beat the odds and rebuild my mental capacity, eh?

I have what I think is a great idea for a book, but not a novel. I am not that imaginative and couldn’t sustain a novel-length plot. I’ve written the intro and some other bits, but to do more, I need to get myself into the habit of writing regularly. This is the bit where I trick myself – by getting myself to blog at least somewhat regularly, I’ll start working on my book without even realizing it.

Whatever you do, don’t tell me that’s what I’m doing – okay?

With all the negativity in the world (and often, admittedly, in my self) I decided I needed to make this a positive place with an optimistic outlook, for a change. If I do write about a difficult topic, I’ll try to look for the positives in it.

I’m a semi-regular writer at Home Ec 101, where I usually do food writing, but I hope to expand to other topics in the coming months. If you’ve never been there, you should check it out. Even if you already know your way around the house, you might still learn something — or you can share your wisdom in the comments!

I’ve seen – and liked – the idea of themes for days of the week, but having a set routine is just so not me. It occurred to me that having a couple possible themes for each day would be something my brain could manage, so that’s what I’m going with. If you have suggestions, bring ’em on in the comments.

Themes that may or may not appear in the future:

Meditation Monday
Memories Monday
True Story Tuesday
Try-it Tuesday
Tuesday Tips
Wordless Wednesday (photos taken by me, by friends or family, and occasionally, some I found online)
Thursday Thoughts
Thankful Thursday
Fiction Friday
Foodie Friday
Song Saturday (No, I won’t sing. Probably. Sharing music I enjoy is the point.)
Show and Tell (could show up any day)
Eureka Moment (where I share something I figured out or recently realized)

…and others, as they occur to me. I’m sure I won’t post something every day, but it is my goal to make Monday-Friday posts a regular habit.

I hope you’ll be back.

Favorite Word of the Post: pleonasm
Least Favorite Word of the Post:  niche

About Bobbie Laughman

May vanish if startled. Professional Advice Dispenser. Amateur Human Being. Scam Detector. Christian. Grandma. Writer-ish. Artistic leanings. Anti-social. Old School Trekkie. Contains Nuts.
This entry was posted in About and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say?

